On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you want the maker-described cube category without requiring clear ice?
The linked English/French manual calls the output ice cubes and offers small and large sizes. It does not describe the result as clear or provide piece dimensions.
Explore this need in the finder →Is adding water by hand a suitable refill routine?
The exact model-family manual instructs the owner to remove the basket and fill the internal reservoir below its MAX line. It does not document a direct water-line inlet.
Explore this need in the finder →Would the specified timed clean cycle help if you will also finish the cleaning by hand?
The manual describes a 30-minute self-clean cycle, followed by draining the water and cleaning the interior. That is a cleaning sequence, not a sanitizing claim.
Explore this need in the finder →Will its published body dimensions fit your measured counter area?
The linked manual lists 9.5 inches wide, 14.1 inches deep, and 12.9 inches high, plus a separate instruction to leave eight inches of ventilation clearance on every side. The finder comparison records body dimensions, not that clearance envelope.
Explore this need in the finder →Can an unconditioned maker ceiling of about 26 lb/day meet your flexible target?
The exact manual states up to 12 kg per 24 hours, about 26.46 lb by unit conversion. It gives no paired room- and water-temperature test condition, so the claim cannot satisfy a condition-specific minimum.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require a documented water-line connection or a guaranteed basket weight?
Neither is quantified or shown: the manual describes manual reservoir filling and a full-basket indicator but does not give a basket mass. The machine also directs owners to move collected ice into a freezer; its up-to-18-hour in-machine period is not powered frozen storage.
Explore this need in the finder →Does a first cycle in roughly 8–13 minutes match your expectations?
The linked manual gives approximately 8–13 minutes for a first ice-making cycle depending on selected size. That timing is not a condition-controlled output rate.
Explore this need in the finder →Are you choosing by the exact clear-lid AMZ-SC model code rather than UPC alone?
The official AMZ-SC page links the exact family manual, but a separate dark-lid EFIC103 page repeats UPC 058465808051 with materially different claims. Confirm the suffix on the offered unit; do not use the UPC alone to transfer features.
Explore this need in the finder →The Frigidaire EFIC103-AMZ-SC is the self-cleaning member of a small stainless countertop-ice-maker family. Its linked English/French manual is unusually useful: it explains the refill and drain routine, two size selections, a 30-minute cleaning program, body dimensions and electrical requirements. It also sets limits a short product listing can hide. The maker does not state the basket's weight capacity, and its daily-output claim is not paired with a test temperature.
Shop by the full model code, not by UPC alone
The exact Curtis/Frigidaire page lists EFIC103-AMZ-SC and UPC 058465808051. A separate EFIC103 page repeats that UPC but shows another cabinet and claims three sizes and a four-quart tank; the AMZ-SC page links a manual for its two-size/self-clean configuration. No source reconciles these records. Keep the exact pages separate. If a seller supplies only the UPC, ask for the unit label and control-panel photo before relying on a cleaning, size or capacity claim.
The picture is the manufacturer-hosted image on the exact AMZ-SC page: stainless cabinet, clear lid. Curtis does not identify photo versus rendering. The underscore-coded EFIC103_AMZ-SS-SC page links a black-stainless sibling image and lists blue and red siblings; it gives no UPC for its base code. That picture is a family reference, not proof of the alternate SKU's finish. Search both codes and verify the offered unit.
Two size choices and a qualified daily claim
The manual calls the output ice cubes and offers small and large sizes, but gives no piece dimensions or clear-ice claim. It lists a basket, scoop, reservoir and add-water/full-basket indicators. The first cycle is approximately 8–13 minutes by size; the specifications say nine pieces per interval. These are planning details, not a guaranteed household rate.
The manual lists 12 kg in 24 hours (about 26.5 lb), without paired room-air and water-temperature conditions. Treat it as a maker ceiling, not a test result. A requirement for a particular output temperature cannot be verified. The daily number also says nothing about the basket's holding weight: the manual gives a full-basket indicator but no pounds or volume.
Self-cleaning has a stated cycle, but still takes follow-up
The linked manual says to hold On/Off for more than five seconds to start self-clean; the program runs 30 minutes. Then drain the water and clean inside. This is not a sanitizing claim or a substitute for care: the manual separately says to unplug, drain, rinse the screen, wipe the interior with a soft warm-water-and-vinegar cloth, and wash the basket and scoop. It cautions against cleaning the evaporator fingers.
For manual refill, remove the basket and add water below the reservoir's MAX line; the source does not state tank volume or document a direct water-line connection. A tank alone does not prove plumbing support.
Measure ventilation as well as the cabinet
The manual lists a body 9.5 inches wide, 14.1 inches deep and 12.9 inches high. It also asks for eight inches of clearance on all sides for ventilation, a dry and level surface, and a spot away from heat. The dimensions therefore do not describe the full counter area you should reserve; check side and rear airflow, lid access and the route to a drain before setting it beside other appliances. The source does not give a basket weight or a separate net appliance weight.
The electrical specification is 115 V, 60 Hz and 90–120 W. The safety section calls for a grounded 110–115 V, 15-amp outlet and warns against an undersized extension cord. Follow the exact label and manual for the particular unit; do not interpret the wattage range as a different current rating.
Who should choose it
This is a sensible candidate for someone who wants a compact body, a documented manual-fill routine, two maker-described cube sizes and a timed cleaning program, and who is comfortable transferring ice to a freezer. The manual says collected ice may remain in the machine for up to 18 hours depending on ambient temperature, then directs the owner to move it to a freezer. It does not describe a powered frozen-storage mode, so do not plan on the basket acting as a freezer or assume it preserves a party-sized reserve. The unit needs tending for water, a full basket and end-of-session cleanup.
Choose a different model if a pound-scale basket, measured output under specified conditions, plumbed water, app control or cup dispensing is an essential requirement. For contrast, the EFIC117-SS_SC page publishes a half-pound basket and 2.3-quart tank, while this EFIC103 manual leaves those capacities unstated; neither daily output number answers how much ice waits in the basket. This model's strongest differentiator is the source-documented 30-minute self-clean cycle, with ordinary cleaning still required.
Confirm the version before ordering
No verified Amazon ASIN or current price is present in the source record. Use the full EFIC103-AMZ-SC search and verify that exact code; do not substitute the UPC for a model check because the manufacturer's EFIC103 page repeats it while making different claims. The manufacturer-hosted image is an exact-page reference, not a statement about current stock or an independent product test.
Search Amazon for Frigidaire EFIC103-AMZ-SC. For the alternate code, use EFIC103_AMZ-SS-SC and confirm the finish.
Manufacturer sources: EFIC103-AMZ-SC exact product page and its linked English/French manual. The related EFIC103_AMZ-SS-SC page links the same manual but does not list a UPC for its exact base SKU.
Key details at a glance
| Ice shape | cube |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer daily output claim | The exact linked manual states 12 kg/24 h; 26.46 lb is a unit conversion. This is a maker-stated ceiling with no paired room/water temperature test condition, not an independent result. |
| Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmed | Yes |
| Listed closed width | 9.5 in |
| Listed closed depth | 14.1 in |
| Listed closed height | 12.9 in |
More specifications and setup details
| Maker-stated pieces per harvest | 9 |
|---|---|
| Stated cleaning-cycle duration | 30 min |
| Frozen-holding limits | Manual says ice may remain in machine up to 18 hours depending on ambient temperature and then directs transfer to a freezer; no powered frozen-storage mode or basket retention guarantee is established. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Find an ice maker for your serving routine.
Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.
