Model assessment · Frigidaire / Curtis International

Frigidaire EFIC117-SS_SC stainless self-cleaning bullet ice maker review

A countertop bullet-ice maker with two selectable sizes, an advertised 26 lb/day ceiling, a stated 0.5 lb collection limit, and a 2.3 qt reservoir; the manufacturer also lists a self-cleaning program.

Sources checked 2026-10-27 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Manufacturer product-family image of the black-stainless EFIC117-SSBLACK_SC variant; the separate silver EFIC117-SS_SC SKU is listed on the same page but is not pictured.

Family image shows black-stainless EFIC117-SSBLACK_SC, not silver EFIC117-SS_SC; verify exact SKU/finish before buying.

Image source and model notes
Manufacturer family reference only: pictured unit is EFIC117-SSBLACK_SC in black stainless, not the silver EFIC117-SS_SC SKU. Verify the exact finish before ordering. Curtis International / Frigidaire
A useful fit for

A shopper wanting two bullet sizes, a visible half-pound collection limit and a known 11 x 15 x 14.5 inch body footprint, who can work with a small collection bin and an output claim whose test temperatures are not stated.

The main tradeoff

The 26 lb/day and nine-pieces-per-seven-minutes numbers are maker claims without paired output conditions; a half-pound bin needs active transfer for larger gatherings. The product page does not establish water-line supply, app or cup dispensing, a frozen hold, electrical values or self-clean timing. The linked image is a black-stainless family sibling, not a verified image of the silver finish.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need bullet ice with two selectable sizes?

Yes. The exact Frigidaire/Curtis page describes two bullet sizes; it does not give their dimensions.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the maker-listed ceiling reach 26 lb/day if you do not require test-temperature details?

The page says up to 26 lb/day, without the paired ambient and water temperatures needed for a condition-specific comparison.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a documented half-pound basket enough, and does it meet a 0.6 lb minimum?

The manufacturer lists storage up to 1/2 lb. It can meet a 0.5 lb threshold but cannot meet a 0.6 lb hard minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the published body dimensions fit a measured 11 x 15 x 14.5 inch space?

The exact page states W x D x H of 11 x 15 x 14.5 inches. It gives no separate installation-clearance requirement, so counter ventilation and lid clearance must be checked independently.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can you insist on a water line or a timed self-clean cycle?

No: the page lists a tank and self-cleaning, but it does not establish direct-line plumbing or a duration for the cleaning program.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Frigidaire EFIC117-SS_SC is a stainless-finish countertop bullet-ice maker with two size choices, an advertised self-clean function, and a 2.3-quart water tank. Its headline is “up to” 26 pounds in a day, but the same manufacturer page puts a much smaller limit on ice waiting in the machine: one-half pound. That distinction matters more than the daily number for anyone hoping to serve a crowd without tending the basket.

Confirm the suffix and finish before buying

The exact Curtis International / Frigidaire page lists the silver model as EFIC117-SS_SC and separately lists EFIC117-SSBLACK_SC as black stainless steel, with UPC 058465814564. The page does not show a UPC for the silver SKU. Do not use the black sibling’s UPC to shop for this version, and do not assume an unqualified “EFIC117” listing is the self-cleaning stainless model. Search for the full EFIC117-SS_SC code and confirm the finish on the seller’s item.

The manufacturer’s page currently links a family image whose file and visible cabinet identify the black-stainless sibling. It is included here only as a qualified family reference; it does not show or verify the silver finish. If finish is decisive, ask the seller for a picture of the exact label or package rather than relying on this illustration. The manufacturer does not say whether the image is a photograph or rendering.

Think about the half-pound basket, not just daily output

The page describes bullet-shaped ice in two selectable sizes. It also says “up to” 26 pounds per day and nine pieces every seven minutes. Those are manufacturer claims, not a measured home result: no room-air and water-temperature pair is supplied for the daily figure, and the page does not give piece dimensions. A seven-minute claim should not be read as a guarantee of that pace through every hour of the day.

Most important for service planning, the listed collection capacity is only one-half pound. Daily production and the amount held in the basket answer different questions. If you make ice for drinks while you cook, that small reserve may be convenient; if you want a large batch to sit ready for a party, expect to move ice into a separate freezer container and keep an eye on the collection area. The page does not describe this unit as a freezer or say it will keep collected ice frozen. Shoppers needing a pound or more in the machine at once should choose a model with a larger, explicitly documented basket instead of using the 26-pound daily ceiling as a stand-in for storage.

Reservoir, controls and cleaning are useful but bounded claims

The manufacturer lists a 2.3-quart (about 2.18-liter) water tank, a digital LCD panel, a clear viewing window, a drain plug and an included scoop. That gives a buyer useful starting facts for comparing routine and cleanup. The page does not document a direct water-line connection, a pull-out tank, remote app control or button dispensing into a cup. A reservoir capacity alone does not prove any particular refill route, so keep that answer flexible unless a seller can verify the exact setup.

Self-cleaning is a real advertised feature, but it does not mean the unit sanitizes itself or eliminates ordinary care. The exact page gives no program duration or cleaning procedure. Its combined English/French download is titled for the black-stainless EFIC117-SSBLACK_SC sibling; because the manufacturer links that file from the silver page as well, it is useful family documentation, not a separate silver-specific manual. I have not treated undocumented timing, chemicals or detailed steps as verified for the silver variant. A drain plug can help empty the appliance, but the page does not establish a full maintenance schedule.

Measure the counter and the daily routine

The exact page states body dimensions of 11 inches wide by 15 deep by 14.5 high. Those measurements make footprint planning possible, but they are not an installation-clearance specification: the page says nothing about extra ventilation space or the height needed to open the lid. Check the whole intended spot, including the route for draining and scooping, before buying. The page’s separate unit specification boxes contain zeros, so they are not used for appliance weight or electrical data; its carton and gift-box measurements are packaging, not the machine.

This is a better fit for a household that wants fresh bullet ice in small rounds, values selectable sizes and is comfortable transferring a half-pound batch. It is a poor fit if an essential need is a large onboard reserve, a condition-tested output promise, a plumbed inlet, a fixed clean-cycle time, or an exact silver product photo before purchase. In those cases, use the questionnaire’s hard requirements and favor another configuration whose matching operating plan actually documents them.

Bottom line and exact-model search

The EFIC117-SS_SC combines a familiar bullet format with a useful two-size choice, stated dimensions and a cleaning feature, but its small basket is the practical constraint. Treat the daily-production number as an upper-bound claim, not a promise of unattended serving capacity. There is no verified ASIN in the saved sources, so the purchase link uses an exact-model search and the site’s registered tracking tag. Verify the full SKU and silver finish in the resulting listing.

Search Amazon for Frigidaire EFIC117-SS_SC

Manufacturer source: Frigidaire / Curtis International EFIC117-SS_SC product page. The page lists the silver SKU and black-stainless sibling separately and does not list a silver UPC.

Key details at a glance

Ice shapebullet
Manufacturer daily output claimManufacturer claim: up to 26 lb in a day; the exact page does not specify a paired room-air/water temperature test condition, and this is not an independent measured household output.
Documented collection basket0.5 lb
Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmedYes
Listed closed width11 in
Listed closed depth15 in
More specifications and setup details
Listed closed height14.5 in
Maker-stated pieces per harvest9
Water reservoir capacity2.18 L
Documented selectable bullet sizes2

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find an ice maker for your serving routine.

Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.