Model assessment · Frigidaire / Curtis International

Frigidaire EFIC189-SILVER countertop ice maker review

A manual-fill compact countertop ice maker with a 2.3-quart listed water reservoir; the exact ice shape is not specified in the cited manufacturer page or manual.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Silver Frigidaire EFIC189-SILVER countertop ice maker from the exact manufacturer product page
Silver finish shown; exact EFIC189-SILVER listing. Ice shape is not specified in the linked manufacturer sources. Curtis International / Frigidaire
A useful fit for

A buyer comfortable manually filling a 2.3-quart reservoir, checking small batches and transferring ice promptly, with flexible ice-shape requirements and counter space for the unit plus ventilation clearance.

The main tradeoff

Manufacturer sources do not identify the ice shape or sizes; the basket is only 1–1.5 lb (use 1 lb conservatively), ice is not held frozen, care is manual, and the daily-output claim has no paired test conditions. Water-line, app, timer and automatic cleaning are not documented.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the exact listing and manual support a manual-fill routine and a reservoir of at least 2 L?

Yes. The page lists 2.3 U.S. qt (about 2.18 L) and the linked manual instructs pouring drinking water below the MAX mark.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require 26 lb/day while also choosing a specific ice texture?

The page states up to 26 lb/24 h, and the manual says 12 kg/24 h, but neither states a specific ice shape or test-temperature pair. A flexible-shape, unconditioned 26 lb minimum is supported; a bullet/nugget/etc. requirement is not.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the documented body fit a 10 × 13 × 13 in space and meet a 1 lb basket minimum?

Yes for body dimensions: the manual converts to about 9.1 W × 12.2 D × 12.8 H in, and the product page gives a 1–1.5 lb bin range. Leave six inches at every side for ventilation; the hard basket threshold uses the conservative 1 lb lower end.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is this a match if I require automatic cleaning or ice to remain frozen in the appliance?

No. The manual specifies weekly hand cleaning and explicitly says the machine is not designed to keep ice frozen. Flexible buyers can still consider its unconditioned output claim, but either essential requirement rejects it.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Frigidaire EFIC189 is a compact, manual-fill ice maker with a larger water reservoir than some small countertop machines. Its exact U.S. product page identifies the silver EFIC189-SILVER (UPC 058465817718), lists a 2.3-quart reservoir and claims up to 26 pounds per day. The catch is important: neither that page nor the linked manual names the ice shape or its selectable sizes. If you need bullet, nugget, clear-cube or another specific form, do not infer it from the appliance picture; treat shape as unconfirmed.

Confirm the exact configuration before comparing claims

The exact Frigidaire/Curtis page identifies SKU EFIC189-SILVER and UPC 058465817718, and links a 28-page English/French manual. Its shared technical table names EFIC189-SILVER alongside other codes, so the listed setup and specifications apply to this SKU without merging those other products. No exact ASIN or retailer-package match is verified.

The page claims “up to” 26 pounds per 24 hours; the manual table says 12 kilograms, about 26.5 pounds. Neither source gives the paired room-air and water temperatures behind that rating. Cycle timing also varies: the page says “as little as” six minutes, the table says eight, and operating instructions allow seven to 15 minutes depending on ambient and water temperature. Treat these as maker claims, not a guaranteed batch time or a measured home result.

Read the bin limit separately from the daily figure

The page gives a one-to-one-and-a-half-pound bin range. For a hard minimum, use the conservative one-pound lower end; 1.5 pounds is not guaranteed each time. For a large cooler, expect to check the full-bin light, remove ice and keep serving or transfer batches. The manual explicitly says the appliance is not designed to keep ice frozen; it is not a small freezer.

The page and manual do not name the ice form or document selectable sizes. The silver image is linked to this exact listing, but it cannot establish ice geometry. If shape is essential, compare models whose own sources identify it: the EFIC125-BLACK page names small and large bullet ice; the EFIC227 page identifies bullet ice and a separate water outlet. Those alternatives do not fill the EFIC189 gap.

A roomier refill reservoir, with a manual routine

The page lists a 2.3-quart reservoir (about 2.18 liters). The manual instructs owners to open the lid, remove the basket and pour drinking water below the MAX mark; an add-water indicator and exterior drain support that manual-fill routine. It does not document a direct line or auxiliary tank. The larger refill volume may reduce top-ups versus a smaller tank, but does not provide continuous supply.

When the bin fills, the machine pauses and restarts about five seconds after ice is removed; a low-water alert requires refill and restart. The manual recommends weekly water replacement and hand cleaning: wipe the interior with warm water and vinegar, rinse and drain, and wash the basket and scoop. It documents no automatic cleaning cycle. Keep drain-plug access clear for emptying.

Measure the body and leave ventilation room

The product page leaves unit dimensions blank; its manual gives 310 × 230 × 325 mm, depth × width × height (about 12.2 × 9.1 × 12.8 inches). It also lists 7.7 kg (about 17 lb), 120 V/60 Hz and 105 W. Leave about six inches on every side for ventilation in addition to the body footprint, and allow room to open the lid.

The manual links performance to air and water temperature but pairs neither with the daily-output claim. This model therefore cannot meet a stated 90°F-air/70°F-water yield requirement. The page and manual also document no app, timer, button-operated ice outlet or special production mode. The EFIC227 differs by documenting separate ice-and-water outlets and a timer; an unlisted EFIC189 feature remains unverified, not disproved for every production run.

Who should shortlist the EFIC189?

Shortlist the EFIC189-SILVER if manual filling, its 2.3-quart reservoir and roughly one-pound collection limit suit occasional drinks or small batches. Look elsewhere if a named texture, larger guaranteed basket, water line, timer, self-cleaning, frozen retention or climate-specific yield is essential. Unknown is not absent, but it cannot satisfy a must-have filter.

Search EFIC189-SILVER and UPC 058465817718, then verify the seller’s exact item and included parts. Sources do not establish current stock, price, ice form, retailer package or photo-versus-render status. No hands-on noise, energy-use or output test is claimed.

Sources: Curtis International / Frigidaire EFIC189 product page and its linked EFIC189 English/French manual.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer daily output claimExact product page says up to 26 lb/24 h; linked manual table states 12 kg/24 h (~26.5 lb). Neither gives a paired room-air/water temperature condition. Matcher uses the conservative page claim of 26 lb.
Documented collection basket1 lb
Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmedNo
Timer confirmedNo
Listed closed width9.06 in
Listed closed depth12.2 in
Listed closed height12.8 in
Dedicated powered frozen-retention featureNo
Cleaning/rinse operationWeekly manual interior wiping, rinsing, draining and hand-washing the basket/scoop; no automated clean or rinse program is documented.
App ice-production control confirmedNo
Maker-stated pieces per harvest9
Water reservoir capacity2.18 L
Frozen-holding limitsExact manual page 1 says the appliance is not designed to keep ice frozen.
Documented front pull-out refill tankNo
Button-operated cup dispensingNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find an ice maker for your serving routine.

Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.