Model assessment · Frigidaire / Curtis International

Frigidaire FGIC250 dual-shape countertop ice maker (black SKU) review

A manual-fill countertop model whose exact page names two-inch clear spheres or hollow-center bullet ice, while leaving body dimensions, reservoir volume, basket storage and temperature-paired output unspecified.

Sources checked 2026-10-27 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Manufacturer page image for the black Frigidaire FGIC250 dual-shape countertop ice maker with front drawer and viewing window

Exact FGIC250 page image for its black SKU; image method is not stated.

Image source and model notes
Black FGIC250 image from the exact Frigidaire page; photo-versus-render method is not stated. Confirm FGIC250-BLACK label and dimensions with seller. Curtis International / Frigidaire
A useful fit for

A shopper who specifically wants maker-described two-inch clear spheres or hollow bullet ice, accepts a manually filled but unmeasured reservoir, and can verify the exact black FGIC250-BLACK listing and counter fit with the seller.

The main tradeoff

Exact page gives no basket or tank capacity, zero body-dimension fields, no temperature pair for its 12kg/day claim, no duration for its self-clean feature and no manual link. Its up-to-82-piece claim has no defined time or storage basis.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need either of the two exact output shapes?

The FGIC250 page identifies both clear two-inch spheres and hollow-center bullet-shaped ice. It does not document other shapes.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you rather have the documented bullet mode?

The product page names bullet-shaped cylinders with a hollow center; detailed bullet-size choices are not specified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the self-cleaning feature need a known duration?

The exact page lists self-cleaning, but its sequence and duration are not supplied. It cannot satisfy a maximum-time requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is manually adding water acceptable, or do you need a direct line?

The page instructs filling a reservoir and says no water hookup is required. It does not document a direct-line option or tank size.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the 12kg/day claim meet a 26-pound floor?

Twelve kilograms converts to about 26.5 pounds, so it meets a 26-pound comparison but not 27 pounds; the claim has no paired test conditions.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a particular temperature-tested daily capacity essential?

No room-air/water pair accompanies the maker’s 12kg/day number, so any selected condition-specific output requirement rejects it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will a two-inch sphere fit a strict 1.99-inch maximum?

The page specifies a two-inch sphere, so a smaller maximum does not fit.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the page document drawer storage mass?

No. A pull-out drawer is shown and described, but the page does not state its mass or volume.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can unknown body dimensions be used for a hard counter limit?

No. The unit dimension fields display zero; the maker’s under-cabinet statement is not a measured clearance envelope.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Frigidaire FGIC250 is unusual in a useful way: its exact manufacturer page lists both clear two-inch spheres and hollow-center bullet ice. That gives a shape-specific option rather than asking you to infer geometry from a closed appliance photo. The same page leaves important planning details blank, though: the reservoir and collection drawer capacities, body dimensions, basket weight, and conditions behind its daily-output figure are not supplied. It suits shoppers who want shape choice and can live with those unknowns—not anyone who needs a measured fit or storage capacity before buying.

Match the full name and black SKU

The saved Frigidaire/Curtis category page lists FGIC250, and its linked English product page uses the title “Touch Control Dual Ice Maker—Clear Sphere or Bullet.” On that page the model line shows FGIC250 and identifies the black item as FGIC250-BLACK, UPC 058465838652. Use that complete black code when comparing a retailer offer; do not treat “Frigidaire sphere maker” as enough to verify a listing. The page also says assorted colors are available but supplies no other exact color codes here, so this assessment only bridges the documented black SKU.

The exact page-linked image shows a black front-and-side countertop unit with a pull-out drawer and viewing window, consistent with the page’s black listing. Curtis does not say whether the image is a photograph or a rendering.

Two documented shapes, with different serving roles

The maker says the machine can produce clear sphere ice or bullet-shaped ice. It describes the spheres as two inches in diameter and promotes their slower melting for spirits; it describes the bullets as hollow cylinders that freeze more quickly and evenly. Those are manufacturer explanations, not comparative tests. The page does not give instructions for choosing a mode, a size range for bullet pieces, or separate cycle times for the two outputs. If a bar-style sphere or a hollow bullet is essential, the listing does at least name each shape directly; do not read “clear” as an independently measured clarity grade.

The page states 55 minutes to the first sphere. That is not a repeating 55-minute cycle, and it says nothing about the first bullet harvest. It also says “produces up to 82 pieces,” without defining the period, output mode, or whether that number is a batch, daily, or basket quantity. Keep the piece count separate from storage and from a daily weight claim.

Use the daily claim cautiously

Curtis lists 12 kilograms of ice per day, equivalent to about 26.5 pounds by conversion. The page gives no paired room-air and water-temperature conditions and no independent measured output, so the figure is best treated as a maker-stated ceiling rather than a party-planning guarantee. The ordinary and advanced finder can use the unconditioned claim as a broad threshold, but it should not place FGIC250 into a 70°F/60°F or 90°F/70°F test-condition result. A 27-pound minimum is above the converted claim.

More importantly for serving, the page does not state the drawer’s weight or volume. Daily production is not how much ice waits in the basket at one time, and neither an 82-piece statement nor an image of the drawer supplies a documented storage capacity. If a certain amount must be available at once, or ice must stay frozen in the machine, choose a model with those details stated or plan to transfer batches to a separate freezer container.

Refill, cleaning, and controls

The maker says no water hookup is required and instructs the owner to fill the reservoir with water. That supports a manual-fill routine, but the page does not state reservoir capacity or document an optional direct-line connection. The product page does list self-cleaning. It does not explain the cleaning sequence, duration, rinse or drain steps, or what accessible surfaces still need hand cleaning; an exact model manual is not linked in the saved product-page capture. Count the feature as a maker-listed cleaning program, not proof of sanitation or maintenance-free ownership.

The product is touch controlled and is shown with drawer access. The page does not document an app, timer, powered frozen-storage function, or button-operated cup dispenser. Those should remain unknown rather than inferred from the controls or product image.

Measure before committing to a tight counter

The manufacturer says the unit fits under kitchen cabinets and requires a grounded 115-volt standard outlet. However, the exact page’s unit height, depth, and width fields display zero, and unit weight is also zero; the page’s 40-pound figure is labeled carton weight, not appliance weight. Do not use those fields as measurements or assume a cabinet clearance from the marketing sentence. Measure the intended counter and overhead space, then ask the seller for the exact FGIC250-BLACK body dimensions and ventilation clearance before buying if a tight fit matters.

Who should consider it?

FGIC250 is a reasonable shortlist candidate when you specifically want a choice between two-inch maker-described spheres and hollow bullet pieces, accept manual reservoir filling, have room for an unmeasured countertop appliance, and can handle a self-clean claim whose instructions are not in the exact page record. It is less suitable when the purchase depends on an exact basket mass, tank volume, daily output under known temperatures, body measurements, cleaning duration, or a documented water line.

For a more straightforward bullet-only alternative, the Frigidaire EFIC117-SS_SC page explicitly identifies bullet ice and lists its own two-size and daily-output claims; its half-pound collection limit and separate care details should be assessed on that exact listing rather than borrowed here. The EFIC106-SS is another nearby Frigidaire option, but its page and linked manual list sizes without naming geometry, so it should not replace FGIC250 when shape is a hard requirement. Compare the seller’s model label and package, and use the finder’s sphere or bullet choice only for facts the FGIC250 page actually supports.

Key details at a glance

Ice shapesphere or bullet
Manufacturer daily output claimExact page says 12kg per day (about 26.5lb by conversion). This is a maker claim without a paired ambient-air/water condition; 26.455 is a converted comparison value, not independent or more precise product measurement.
Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmedYes
Approximate sphere diameter2 in
Cleaning/rinse operationSelf-cleaning feature listed; cycle details and duration not stated.
Frozen-holding limitsThe page does not specify powered freezer retention; a drawer image does not establish that stored ice stays frozen.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find an ice maker for your serving routine.

Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.