Model assessment · Newair

Newair AI-100S review

A three-size bullet maker with manual refill, an up-to-28-pound daily claim and a simple Power/Select control routine.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Newair AI-100S Silver countertop bullet-ice maker variant
Exact manufacturer-listed finish variant image. Maker does not state whether the image is a photograph or a render. Newair
A useful fit for

Best suited to a household that wants ordinary hollow-ended bullet ice in three size choices and is comfortable checking the water reservoir, emptying the removable basket and cleaning by hand.

The main tradeoff

The 28 lb/day figure has no stated temperature pair and is not basket storage. The exact basket mass is not published; the insulated bin recycles meltwater rather than freezing ice long-term. Manual cleaning and a reachable side drain are part of the routine.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I choose the AI-100S for bullet ice and its maker-stated 28-pound daily ceiling?

Yes, when you opt into this earlier configuration: the exact family page lists AI-100S and describes bullet ice up to 28 lb/day. The test temperatures are not stated.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact listing establish a 28-pound claim at 90°F air and 70°F water?

No. The page and NIM028 manual do not state that temperature pair, so an exact warm-condition requirement remains unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require a dedicated automatic cleaning cycle?

No. The page says there is no self-cleaning function; the manual directs unplugged hand cleaning and a separate manual descaling routine.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will it satisfy a two-pound minimum basket weight?

That requirement is not confirmed: the manufacturer gives no basket-weight capacity for AI-100S. Daily production must not be substituted for collection-basket mass.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the AI-100S make nugget ice?

No. The exact product page identifies bullet ice; nugget machines use a different mechanism and texture.

Explore this need in the finder →

Silver finish, exact model and the right manual

The Newair AI-100S is the silver, non-stainless version of the maker’s compact bullet-ice countertop machine. Its exact listing calls the finish Silver and assigns it a separate AI-100S SKU and variant image. Do not treat every similarly named listing as the same configuration: the stainless AI-100SS has its own manual, while the separately listed AI-110SS is a narrower 26-pound-per-day model with a different control routine. This assessment follows the AI-100S option and the generic NIM028xx00 manual that Newair links from the family page, not the stainless manual or the AI-110SS instructions.

The page’s headline and specifications have inconsistent copy in a few places, including a stray nugget reference. The model specifications and product title identify bullet ice, and the manual describes three selectable sizes through Power and Select buttons. That is the useful distinction for a household choosing texture: these are hollow-ended rounded pieces, not the compact chewable nuggets made by an auger system.

Production is a claim, not a ready-to-serve reserve

Newair states up to 28 pounds of ice per day for this family. That number is a daily production ceiling, not the weight the basket holds and not a promise that 28 pounds appear in a single run. The manual’s ice-full indicator stops production until the basket is emptied; low water also stops the cycle. For a gathering, the practical routine is to keep checking the reservoir, move full baskets elsewhere and restart when the machine is ready.

The page describes a batch every ten minutes in one section, while the manual gives a six-to-fifteen-minute cycle depending on selected size and room temperature. Treat these as manufacturer descriptions, not a measured schedule. Neither source attaches a room-air and water-temperature pair to the 28-pound figure, so a shopper with an essential warm-room output threshold should not count this model as meeting that test. The exact basket weight is also unpublished; daily pounds do not answer a basket-size requirement.

What the controls and setup ask of you

The manual’s routine is refreshingly simple: fill the reservoir below its MAX line, choose small, medium or large, then press Power. Lights identify the selected size, full basket and low-water conditions. The cycle stops when ice is ready or the basket is full, but it does not remove the need to watch water and transfer ice. After a low-water stop, the instructions call for at least three minutes before restarting so the compressor can settle.

The family page lists the non-stainless body as 13.75 inches deep, 11.75 inches wide before the drain projection and 14.6 inches high; the stated width becomes 12.5 inches with the side drain. Use the wider figure when checking a tight counter, and remember that the manual asks for five inches of clearance behind and beside the machine. It also says to leave the unit upright for an hour before plugging it in after unpacking and to use a grounded outlet. A nominal box measurement alone is not a working-space plan.

Insulated collection still melts

The maker describes an insulated collection area, and the page says melted water returns to the reservoir for another round. That helps reuse water during production, but it is not a powered freezer. Ice left in the basket is not a dependable frozen reserve. If timing matters, move batches to a separate freezer rather than assuming insulation will hold them through a long pause.

Cleaning is a manual job

The exact page lists no self-cleaning function or timer. The NIM028 manual directs you to unplug the machine, remove the basket, clean the interior and reservoir with diluted detergent and warm water, and dry the surfaces. It says to replace the water every 24 hours, drain the reservoir when the appliance will be idle, and allow at least 24 hours of drying before storage. Its vinegar-or-lemon descaling procedure uses two or three ice cycles followed by draining, refilling and two rinse cycles. That is more involved than pressing a Clean button, and a strict automatic-cleaning requirement should rule the AI-100S out.

Who should choose it—and what should change the shortlist

Choose the AI-100S if bullet ice, three size options and a basic manual-fill routine fit your day. Compare the AI-100SS if the stainless finish matters, but keep its stainless-specific manual and heavier listed weight distinct. Compare the AI-110SS if counter width or a documented five-cycle rinse is more important than three ice sizes; its separate manual describes 7.3-inch width and a 26-pound daily claim. If nugget texture is essential, start with a confirmed nugget configuration instead.

One final limit deserves attention before an offer: the live Newair page uses broad commercial-use language and advertises a two-year warranty, while the linked NIM028 manual says one year and lists commercial or industrial use among warranty exclusions. The exact terms for a particular purchase and use should be confirmed with Newair or the seller; the marketing heading is not a substitute for warranty terms. This review does not claim lab-tested output, noise, taste, energy use or current retailer availability. In the finder, the AI-100S can satisfy bullet ice, manual refill and an unconditioned 28-pound claim only when earlier models are included. It cannot satisfy an exact warm-condition test, a two-pound basket minimum or a dedicated-cleaning requirement on the evidence available.

Sources: Newair’s exact family product page and the NIM028xx00 English manual v1.0.

Key details at a glance

Ice shapebullet
Manufacturer daily output claimUp to 28 lb/day; manufacturer does not state the room-air/water-temperature pair for this family claim.
Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmedNo
Timer confirmedNo
Side tank includedNo
Listed closed width12.5 in
Listed closed depth13.75 in
Listed closed height14.6 in
Dedicated powered frozen-retention featureNo
Cleaning/rinse operationManual unplugged interior/basket cleaning and manual draining; a vinegar/lemon descaling routine runs through ice-making cycles but is not an automatic cleaning program.
Water reservoir capacity5.2 L
Documented selectable bullet sizes3
Frozen-holding limitsThe product page describes an insulated ice compartment and says melted water returns to the reservoir; this is collection during production, not powered frozen storage.
Water-line option documentedNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find an ice maker for your serving routine.

Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.