Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can the IGLICEBSC26BK make bullet ice with a documented 1.5-pound basket?
Yes. The exact series manual lists a 1.5-pound ice basket; the exact black product page identifies IGLICEBSC26BK.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I rely on the maker’s 26-pound/day claim to meet a strict 27-pound minimum?
No. The exact page claims up to 26 pounds per 24 hours, below 27; the conditions for the daily claim are not stated.
Explore this need in the finder →Does this configuration support manual water filling rather than a required water line?
The manual describes pouring water into the integrated reservoir. A direct water-line connection is not documented for this configuration.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the separate IGLICEBSC26BK no-handle model satisfy a mandatory integrated carry-handle requirement?
No. Its exact manufacturer image and no-handle product identity show this configuration has no carry handle; it must not be merged with the Aqua/Pink/Black carry-handle family.
Explore this need in the finder →The Igloo IGLICEBSC26BK is a manual-fill bullet-ice machine with two selectable cube sizes, a 1.5-quart reservoir, a 1.5-pound basket, and a manufacturer-described cleaning cycle. It makes sense when you want small batches close to where drinks are served. Its 26-pound-per-day headline is not the amount held ready at once, and it does not describe a continuously stocked freezer bin.
Choose it for bullet ice, not for the headline alone
The exact black model is identified by Nostalgia Products as IGLICEBSC26BK. Its page advertises up to 26 pounds of ice in 24 hours, nine bullet-shaped pieces in as little as seven minutes, and small or large size choices. The linked IGLICEBSC26-series manual gives more useful operating context: nine pieces per cycle, with a cycle lasting six to fifteen minutes depending on cube size and room temperature. That range is a better planning reference than treating the seven-minute minimum as a schedule. Neither source supplies a room-and-water temperature pair for the daily total, so the 26-pound figure remains an unqualified manufacturer claim, not an independently measured yield or a guarantee for a warm kitchen.
Bullet ice is the decisive preference. It is a hollow-ended, rounded piece, not the soft nugget ice made by a different mechanism and not a large square or clear cube. The panel offers small and large settings; the manual recommends choosing small in a room below 60°F to reduce sticking. If an essential requirement is nugget texture, large cocktail cubes, or a specified output under a particular temperature condition, this model should fall out of the shortlist rather than being stretched to fit.
Daily production and collection are separate jobs
The 1.5-quart water reservoir must be filled manually. The manual instructs you to lift the lid, remove the basket, pour water below the MAX mark, replace the basket, and start a cycle. You need to check the water level during use; when it runs low, the unit stops and the add-water indicator lights. It also stops when the basket is full. There is no manufacturer-documented direct water-line connection or side tank for this configuration, so a desire for unattended replenishment is a mismatch.
The 1.5-pound basket is a collection buffer, not freezer storage and not a second way of stating daily production. A 26-pound claim spread across repeated cycles still asks you to empty the basket and transfer ice as you use the machine. The manual does not identify a powered frozen-holding mode. If you need to bank ice for later, plan a separate freezer container and the handling that entails. That is a more realistic fit than expecting the basket to hold the day’s rated production.
Counter space and care are part of the choice
Nostalgia lists the unit at 14 × 11 × 14 inches and 20 pounds, but the product specification does not label which number is width, depth, or height. Measure the site rather than guessing from the order of the dimensions. The manual asks for a flat, shaded position with at least four inches of clear space on every side, and one hour for the refrigerant to settle before first use. The black product image shows a compact box with a top viewing lid and front controls; the model has no carry handle. At twenty pounds, it is better treated as an appliance with a parking place than as something to move full of water or ice.
The “self-cleaning” label does not make the whole care job automatic. The manual describes a five-pass circulation cycle, but still calls for draining leftover water, cleaning the rest of the inside and outside by hand, draining again, and leaving the lid open until the interior dries before storage. It also says to change reservoir water every 24 hours and drain it when not in use. This is a useful cleaning aid for frequent small batches, not a reason to skip fresh water, draining, or drying.
Who should keep it on the list?
Choose the IGLICEBSC26BK if bullet shape, two size settings, a documented clean cycle, and a modest basket suit your routine—and if you are willing to refill, monitor, empty, and clean it. It is less suitable for a tight cabinet because the maker does not identify dimension axes or give a complete installed projection; select a strict size limit only when the product’s orientation and ventilation fit are confirmed. It is also a poor match for app control, a direct water line, a large collection bin, or guaranteed output above the unqualified 26-pound claim.
For another bullet machine, compare the Newair NIM026MS00: its separate assessment documents a narrower listed body and a 1.5-pound basket, but no cleaning cycle. That difference matters more than treating two “26 lb/day” headlines as equivalent performance. If your requirement is nugget ice or a different collection arrangement, use the shape and basket choices in the finder first; do not buy this black bullet model on its daily number alone.
Key details at a glance
| Ice shape | bullet |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer daily output claim | Manufacturer claim up to 26 lb per 24h; exact room/water pair for that figure is not stated. Product page says nine bullets in as little as 7 minutes; the linked IGLICEBSC26 series manual states nine per 6–15-minute cycle, depending on size and room temperature. |
| Documented collection basket | 1.5 lb |
| Dedicated cleaning cycle confirmed | Yes |
| Side tank included | No |
| Cleaning/rinse operation | Five-pass circulating cleaning cycle; the manual still requires draining, hand-cleaning the remaining interior/exterior, draining and drying with the lid open before storage. |
| Depth measurement note | Manufacturer lists 14 × 11 × 14 inches without labeling width/depth/height; strict axis-specific cabinet fit remains unconfirmed. Manual requires four inches of clearance on each side. |
| Maker-stated cube pieces per harvest | 9 |
| Maker-stated pieces per harvest | 9 |
| Water reservoir capacity | 1.42 L |
| Documented selectable bullet sizes | 2 |
| Frozen-holding limits | The exact manual documents a removable basket and says production stops when full; it does not document a powered frozen-holding mode. Basket is not treated as freezer storage. |
| Button-operated cup dispensing | No |
| Water-line option documented | No |
| Integrated carry handle | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Find an ice maker for your serving routine.
Compare ice shape, collection capacity and useful care features.
